Ass. - Prof. Mag. Dr. Erich Eder

Ass. – Prof. Mag. Dr. Erich Eder

Faculty Medicine
E-mail erich.eder@med.sfu.ac.at
Location Vienna

Field of work

Assistant Professor of Biology, Science Lab, Journal Club, Study Counsel

Resume

Erich Eder is Assistant Professor of Biology at the Medical Faculty of SFU Vienna and has been teaching at the University of Vienna for over 20 years (homepage.univie.ac.at/erich.eder). After PhD in zoology at the Department of Evolutionary Biology (Univ. Vienna) research on morphological, ecological and conservation biology issues. International lecturing activities; visiting researcher at Humboldt University Berlin, Københavns Universitet and Universitá di Bologna; Theodor Körner Award for Science (1999), City of Vienna Promotion Award for Science and Popular Education (2004), Josef Schöffel Conservation Award of the Province of Lower Austria (2008), Teaching Award of the University of Vienna (2019).
Teaching focus: Module leader B6 (Fundamentals of Life), leader Skills Line POL (Problem Oriented Learning) and Science Lab (Microscopy), Biology for Medical Students, Journal Club (researching, reading and writing scientific papers).
Research focus: supervision of master theses on evolution, sex education, medicinal plants, CoViD19, etc. For several years, interested in the causes of creationism, alternative medicine and superstition ("paranormal belief"), as well as in philosophy of science and didactics of science and medicine.
Publications: www.publicationslist.org/erich.eder
SFU Publication Database Link

Ass. - Prof. Mag. Dr. Erich Eder

Ass. – Prof. Mag. Dr. Erich Eder

Fakultät Medizin
E-Mail erich.eder@med.sfu.ac.at
Ort Wien

Aufgabenbereich

Assistenzprofessor für Biologie, Science Lab, Journal Club, Study Counsel

Lebenslauf

Erich Eder ist Assistenzprofessor für Biologie an der Medizinischen Fakultät der SFU Wien und lehrt seit über 20 Jahren an der Universität Wien (homepage.univie.ac.at/erich.eder). Nach der Promotion in Zoologie am Department für Evolutionsbiologie (Univ. Wien) Forschung an morphologischen, ökologischen und naturschutzbiologischen Fragestellungen. Internationale Vortragstätigkeit; Gastforscher an der Humboldt-Universität Berlin, der Københavns Universitet und der Universitá di Bologna; Theodor-Körner-Preis für Wissenschaft (1999), Förderungspreis der Stadt Wien für Wissenschaft und Volksbildung (2004), Josef Schöffel Naturschutzpreis des Lands Niederösterreich (2008), Teaching Award der Universität Wien (2019).
Schwerpunkt der Lehre: Modulleiter B6 (Grundlagen des Lebens), Leiter Skills Line POL (Problemorientiertes Lernen) und Science Lab (Mikroskopie), Biologie für Mediziner, Journal Club (Recherchieren, Lesen und Schreiben wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten).
Schwerpunkt der Forschung: Betreuung von Masterarbeiten zu den Themen Evolution, Sexualkunde, Arzneipflanzen, CoViD19 u.a. Seit einigen Jahren Interesse an den Ursachen von Kreationismus, Alternativmedizin und Aberglaube (“paranormal belief“) sowie an Wissenschaftstheorie und Didaktik der Naturwissenschaft und Medizin.
Publikationen: www.publicationslist.org/erich.eder
SFU Publikationsdatenbank Link